17.55, Introduction to Latin American Studies, Fall 2006 Prof. Chappell Lawson

Appendix: Political Transition in Mexico

Handout: Key terms and individuals (Mexico)

Porfirio Díaz Dictator overthrown in Revolution

Porfiriato Dictatorship under Porfirio Díaz, 1877-1910

Francisco Madero Wealthy liberal landowner who leads campaign against Díaz

Victoriano Huerta Reactionary general; overthrows Madero in 1913

Emiliano Zapata Revolutionary general; symbol of Indian resistance and

desire for land reform in southern Mexico

Francisco ("Pancho") Villa Revolutionary general from northern Mexico; favored

radical measures

Venustiano Carranza Revolutionary general; leader of Constitutionalists; defeats

Villa and Zapata; overthrown by Obregón in 1920

Alvaro Obregón Revolutionary general; strongman, 1920-28 Plutarcho Elías Calles Constitutionalist general; founder of PNR; behind-the-

scenes strongman, 1928-1934

Lázaro Cárdenas Constitutionalist general; President 1934-40; founder of PRM

Cuauhtèmoc Cárdenas Son of Lázaro Cárdenas; presidential candidate, 1988,

1994, and 2000; founder of PRD

Carlos Salinas President, 1988-1994; architect of sweeping political and

economic reform

Ernesto Zedillo President, 1994-2000; favored neoliberal economic policies

and democratization

Caciques Local bosses affiliated with the ruling party

Camarillas Factions within the ruling party PNR National Revolutionary Party

PMR Party of the Mexican Revolution (successor of PNR)
PRI Revolutionary Institutional Party (successor of PMR)
PRD Party of the Democratic Revolution; principal leftist

opposition party

PAN National Action Party; principal conservative opposition party